016. 1000 Petal Lotus & Angus Tarnawsky, Subconscious Self Sabotage

015. Brian Chase, Drums & Drones II

014. Brian Chase & Angus Tarnawsky, Live At Secret Project Robot

013. Victoria Keddie, Cannibal Mécanique

012. Bryce Hackford, Diegetic Music

011. Robert Deeds (cur. by Maria Chavez), Broken Piano

010. Angus Tarnawsky, Surface To Air

009. Shelley Burgon, LOVEHER (2014)

008. Joe Talia, Sayu/Volo a Vela

007. Thomas Kircher & Lukas Grundmann, Wider/Wieder

006. monotope, Unsteady Scaffold/Voltaire’s Dubs

005. Daren Ho, 1 2 3 4 5 6

004. Nathan Liow & Angus Tarnawsky, Artifacts

003. Brian Chase, Ride/Scratch

002. Che Chen, Bus Passes By/Saturday

001. Shelley Burgon,  LOVEHER



Robert Deeds (cur. by Maria Chavez)
Broken Piano

7” lathe cut record (square)
Edition of 25 copies




Robert Deeds is an artist living and working in Philadelphia. His debut release for ICM is Broken Piano, a set of recordings collected from a piano stored at the Philadelphia Museum of Art. ICM011 was curated by Robert's longtime friend, Maria Chávez.

Born in Lima, Peru, Maria is known as an abstract turntablist, sound artist and DJ. Accidents, coincidence and failures are themes that unite her sound sculptures, installations and other works with her solo turntable performance practice.


Facilities designed for the storage of art can be lonely places. Sculptures and paintings that once stimulated and delighted, now silently sit under dim light, removed from their original intent and purpose. Some are there because they have fallen into disrepair. Others, however, have simply fallen from favor.

Among the myriad of discarded, this one creation stood apart from the rest. A "Square Piano" constructed in Philadelphia 200 years ago by a man who came to live in a country that was barely older than himself. This object went beyond being created to communicate on only a visual level, this one existed to interact with its creators symbiotically, to create a higher plane of feelings and emotions that neither maker nor object were able to communicate on their own.

For its first 100 years, this piano dutifully fulfilled its obligations of being. Then, due to the ravages of time or the fickleness of fancy, it came to live here. The next 100 years were spent removed from its greatness, its sense of belonging and purpose, destined but to linger forever, no longer desirable, in a preserved state of decay, hopelessly waiting to once again be at least deemed relevant, by someone, anyone, who can still recognize that spark of greatness.

This is the story of one object. It's a beautifully morbid ballad of loss and loneliness, a desperate plea, an unwilling acceptance of obsolescence.


Record Release Poster
by ICM and Andrew Long